Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Master of Arts "International Relations"



Content of the Study Programme

The master's programme in International Relations (MAIR) is one of the most competitive programmes in Europe and has been offered jointly by Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and the Universität Potsdam since 2003. For an innovative concept, high-quality teaching, and a convincing international orientation, the MAIB received a quality label from the DAAD and the “Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft”. It was named one of the ten best international master’s programmes in Germany.

The degree programme provides you with in-depth academic and professional knowledge, i.e., theories and methods in international relations, skills, and abilities for scientific work as well as empirical expertise in the field of international politics. Thanks to the cooperation of the three universities, you will benefit from a comprehensive range of courses that encompasses a broad spectrum of theoretical approaches, thematic subject areas, and distinctive regional expertise.

As part of the master’s degree programme in International Relations, you choose one of two possible specialisations, Global Challenges or EU Studies. The subject areas of the degree include:

  • international organisations and institutions,
  • political economy and international economic relationships,
  • comparative foreign policy and regional analysis,
  • peace and conflict studies and security policy,
  • EU studies
  • methods of empirical social research.

The courses are offered in German as well as in English. A professional internship is a compulsory part of the degree programme. In addition, a stay abroad is highly recommended.

Study Objective and Future Areas of Work

In this degree programme, you pursue the goal of qualifying yourself theoretically as well as practically for the complexity of world politics in the 21st century. The degree Master of Arts International Relations qualifies you for PhD studies, if applicable, taking into account special further admission requirements. With your degree, you also have access to the Higher Civil Service.

Furthermore, the study of International Relations qualifies you for specific activities in:

  • international organizations and institutions,
  • institutions of development cooperation,
  • non-governmental-organizations (NGO´s),
  • journalism,
  • private sector.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Master of Arts Internationale Beziehungen


Inhalt des Studiums

Der Masterstudiengang Internationale Beziehungen (MAIB) ist einer der konkurrenzfähigsten Studiengänge in Europa und wird seit 2003 von der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Universität Potsdam gemeinsam angeboten. Für ein innovatives Konzept, eine qualitativ hochwertige Lehre und eine überzeugende internationale Ausrichtung erhielt der MAIB ein Qualitätslabel des DAAD und des Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft. Er wurde als einer der zehn besten internationalen Masterstudiengänge in Deutschland ausgezeichnet. 

Das Studium vermittelt Ihnen vertiefte wissenschaftliche und berufsqualifizierende Kenntnisse, d.h. Theorien und Methoden in den Internationalen Beziehungen, Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten sowie empirische Fachkenntnisse im Bereich der internationalen Politik.  Durch die Kooperation der drei Universitäten profitieren Sie von einem umfangreichen Lehrangebot, das ein breites Spektrum theoretischer Ansätze, thematischer Sachgebiete und ausgeprägter Regionalexpertisen umfasst.

Sie entscheiden sich im Rahmen Ihres Masterstudiengangs Internationale Beziehungen für einen von zwei möglichen Schwerpunkten, Globale Herausforderungen oder EU-Studien. Zu den Themenfeldern des Studiums zählen:

  • internationale Organisationen und Institutionen,
  • politische Ökonomie und internationale Wirtschaftsbeziehungen,
  • Transformationsforschung,
  • vergleichende Außenpolitik und Regionalanalysen,
  • EU-Studien,
  • Friedens- und Konfliktforschung,
  • Sicherheitspolitik,
  • Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung.

Die Lehrveranstaltungen werden sowohl in deutscher Sprache als auch in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Ein Berufspraktikum ist ein obligatorischer Teil des Studiengangs. Außerdem wird dringend ein Auslandsaufenthalt empfohlen.


Studienziel und zukünftige Arbeitsfelder

In diesem Studiengang verfolgen Sie das Ziel, sich für die Komplexität der Weltpolitik im 21. Jahrhundert theoretisch sowie praktisch zu qualifizieren. Der Abschluss Master of Arts Internationale Beziehungen qualifiziert Sie, ggf. unter Berücksichtigung besonderer weiterer Zugangsvoraussetzungen, für ein Promotionsstudium. Sie haben mit Ihrem Abschluss außerdem einen Zugang zum Höheren Öffentlichen Dienst.

Darüber hinaus qualifiziert Sie das Studium der Internationalen Beziehungen zu spezifischen Tätigkeiten in:

  • internationalen Organisationen und Institutionen,
  • Institutionen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit,
  • Nichtregierungsorganisationen (Non-Profit-Organisation),
  • Journalismus,
  • der Öffentlichen Verwaltung,
  • der Privatwirtschaft.